Call of the Cove

Over 40 Cities Join Worldwide Protest Against Taiji Dolphin Hunt

4 Comments

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE — February 18, 2013

WHAT: In support of over 1/4 million signatures on the petition “Olympic Committee: Please respectfully challenge Tokyo’s 2020 bid due to Taiji Dolphin Hunt” collected from all over the world, there will be a live worldwide protest held in over 40 cities globally on February 22, 2013. In addition, there will be numerous online rallies held the same day to support the efforts of the live protests.

WHO: Animal rights advocates, dolphin supporters, and concerned citizens around the world

WHEN: Friday, February 22, 2013 — Event start times are listed for the local time zone of the protest. (The times listed in parentheses refer to the time for the Eastern time zone in the United States.)

WHERE: See event details below.

BACKGROUND: Against the wishes of concerned citizens from all over the world, Taiji, Japan continues to barbarically exploit its marinelife with the capture and cruel slaughter of dolphins and small whales annually. In their lust to capture dolphins to supply to marine parks and swim-with-dolphin programs for hefty profit, they brutally and inhumanely slaughter the remaining members of each pod by inserting a blade into the spine of these mammals causing an excruciating death that can last upward to 7 minutes. In addition to this callous, inhumane death, the dolphins are subjected to hours of exhausting chase, often run over by the boats and even cut with propellers along the way. In short, they are tortured for hours before they are met with a gruesome fate. This continues in the guise of “tradition” even though the meat has been analyzed to contain toxic levels of mercury and demand for dolphin and whale meat in Japan continues to decline rapidly. Even though Taiji has been offered many alternatives to end this hunt that would be economically viable to support their town, they refuse to stop.

GLOBAL TAIJI ACTION DAY PROTESTS: February 22, 2013

AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM NZDT (6 PM EST, Thursday)
Click here for event details.

CANBERRA, AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY, AUSTRALIA: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
10:30 AM EDT (6:30 PM EST, Thursday)
Click here for event details.

MELBOURNE, VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
10:30 AM EDT (6:30 PM EST, Thursday)
Click here for event details.

ADELAIDE, SOUTH AUSTRALIA, AUSTRALIA: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
11 AM CDT (7:30 PM EST, Thursday)
Click here for event details.

SYDNEY, NEW SOUTH WALES, AUSTRALIA: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM EDT (8 PM EST, Thursday)
Click here for event details.

BRISBANE, QUEENSLAND, AUSTRALIA: Taiji Action Day for Dolphins
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM EST (9 PM EST, Thursday)
Click here for event details.

PERTH, WESTERN AUSTRALIA, AUSTRALIA: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
11:30 AM WST (10:30 PM EST, Thursday)
Click here for event details.

ROURKELA, ORISSA, INDIA: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
11 AM IST (12:30 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

ATHENS, GREECE: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
11 AM EET (4 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

PRETORIA, SOUTH AFRICA: Global Taiji Action Day for Dolphins – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
11 AM SAST (4 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA: Taiji Action Day for Dolphins – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
11 AM SAST (4 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA (ONLINE PROTEST): Taiji Action Day for Dolphins
Friday, February 22, 2013
Click here to learn how to participate online.

DÜSSELDORF, GERMANY: Freiheit für die Delfine und Wale von Taiji 2013
Friday, February 22, 2013
11 AM CET (5 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

BUCHAREST, ROMANIA: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12:30 PM EET (5:30 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

BRUSSELS, BELGIUM: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM CET (6 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

COLOGNE, GERMANY: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM CET (6 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

THE HAGUE, THE NETHERLANDS: Global Taiji Action Day for Dolphins – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
1 PM CET (7 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

BARCELONA, SPAIN: Taiji Action Day for Dolphins
Friday, February 22, 2013
1 PM CET (7 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

LONDON, ENGLAND, UNITED KINGDOM: Taiji Action Day for Dolphins 2013
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM GMT (7 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

LONDON ENGLAND, UNITED KINGDOM: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM GMT (7 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND, UNITED KINGDOM: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM GMT (7 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

DUBLIN, IRELAND: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM GMT (7 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

ROME, ITALY: Taiji Action Day for Dolphins – Olympic Challenge / Giornata Di Protesta Internazionale Per Salvare I Delfini De Taiji
Friday, February 22, 2013
2 PM CET (8 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

QUITO, ECUADOR: Taiji Action Day for Dolphins – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
9 AM ECT (9 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

NAPLES, ITALY: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
3:30 PM CET (9:30 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

SÃO PAULO, BRAZIL: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM BRT (10 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM BRT (10 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

BELO HORIZONTE, BRAZIL: Taiji Action Day for Dolphins
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM BRT (10 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

PORTO ALEGRE, BRAZIL: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM BRT (10 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

MEXICO CITY, MEXICO: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
10:30 AM CST (11:30 AM EST)
Click here for event details.

OTTAWA, ONTARIO, CANADA: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM EST
Click here for event details.

TORONTO, ONTARIO, CANADA: Taiji Action Day for Dolphins – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM EST
Click here for event details.

MIAMI, FLORIDA, UNITED STATES: Taiji Action Day for Dolphins
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM EST
Click here for event details.

ORLANDO, FLORIDA, UNITED STATES: Global Taiji Action Day – SeaWorld
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM EST
Click here for event details.

MAR DEL PLATA, ARGENTINA: Global Taiji Action Day for Dolphins – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
3 PM ART (1 PM EST)
Click here for event details.

HOUSTON, TEXAS, UNITED STATES: Global Taiji Action Day for Dolphins – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM CST (1 PM EST)
Click here for event details.

NEW YORK, NEW YORK, UNITED STATES: Global Taiji Action Day for Dolphins – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
2 PM EST
Click here for event details.

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA, UNITED STATES: Global Dolphin-Whale Action Day
Friday, February 22, 2013
11 AM PST (2 PM EST)
Click here for event details.

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA, UNITED STATES: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM PST (3 PM EST)
Click here for event details.

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON, UNITED STATES: Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
12 PM PST (3 PM EST)
Click here for event details.

DENVER, COLORADO, UNITED STATES: Global Taiji Action Day for Dolphins – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
1:30 PM MST (3:30 PM EST)
Click here for event details.

PORTLAND, OREGON, UNITED STATES: Olympic Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
3 PM PST (6 PM EST)
Click here for event details.

CHILE (ONLINE PROTEST): Global Taiji Action Day – Olympic Challenge
Friday, February 22, 2013
Click here to learn how to participate online.

GLOBAL ONLINE PROTEST: Taiji Action Day for Dolphins 2013
Online campaign ends Thursday, February 28, 2013
Click here to learn how to participate online.

4 thoughts on “Over 40 Cities Join Worldwide Protest Against Taiji Dolphin Hunt

  1. Pingback: The IanF Show » Today Is The Day Of Action!

  2. I would like to be informed next time one of these protests take place. If you would like visual evidence of these killings, watch a documentary called, “The Cove”

  3. “The Cove” changed my life.

  4. I sent a e-mail to my hime town Burlington ON, trying to get them to support the cause! I have not yet got a reply but im hoping theywill get back to me soon. If their is anything i can do to help please e-mail me!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers